The L Bomb

The L Bomb!  I am sure we all know what I am talking about when I mention that term.  This weapon can be very dangerous.  If said at the right time it could conjure up the greatest emotions.  But if anticipated too soon it could blow up in your face, causing your heart to feel like it is about to spontaneously combust.  So when is a good time to say “I love you?”

My friend Bridget, I changed her name for this post, is the first one to say, “You never tell a man you love him until he has said it to you first, you must play by the rules.”  Bridget only dates the rich and accomplished men in Toronto so it is not at all surprising when she says things like this to me.  Taking a sip out of her fruity Martini with a real garnished Lily on the rim she glared at me, “This is why you always get your heart broken, you fall in love too fast.  You need to play the game to make sure he loves you first, then you can let yourself say ‘I love you.'”

But is it wrong to say ‘I love you’ if that is really how you feel?  I mean does not every song we here on the radio and movie we see on TV tell us to follow our heart?  I grew up as an actor and was trained to act on impulse, as well as say and do what is exactly on my mind.  And does time really have a play in when to say ‘I love you?’  I know it may have some sway, but I know people who have been together for a long time and don’t really love each other.

Before we leave Earls, Bridget grabs her Louis as we get up from our chairs and says, “Maybe you think you are in love because you are still in that Honey Moon Stage.”  But what if the emotion you feel is love?  Does it matter how long you have been dating someone?  Should you hide what you feel to save your ego?  My answer is clear.  NO.  I will continue to act on emotion, it makes me witty and incredibly interesting.  I am not afraid of putting myself on the line and telling him how I feel.

But what if when you say the L Bomb, he doesn’t say it back?  That sudden rush of adrenaline turns into a suffocating feeling of rejection.  And suddenly you start to doubt the relationship or if he will ever feel the same as you?

The real question is, should you follow your heart or should you play by the game?

One thought on “The L Bomb

Leave a Reply

