The Ex Encounter

One weekend my friend Tessa came to the big city to catch up and have some strong drinks.  After a fun and way-too-short of a weekend we went to Liberty Village and had breakfast at this wonderful place called School.  We then grabbed a few coffees from Starbucks and went on a nice walk around the area.

And like most friends who start catching up on lost times, we began gossiping about past boyfriends.  We bitched about my crazy ex, who thankfully is off somewhere dancing on a cruise ship.  And then started talking about her past boyfriend who unfortunately resides in the city.  I remember saying, “I don’t know how you do it.  I am so glad my boyfriend is locked away on some ship in the middle of nowhere, this is my city and I’m not sharing it!”

Then Tessa looked at me after taking a large gulp from her Pike Place Roast and said, “I wish! My ex lives here with his F#*^ing girlfriend, who is terrified of me. Actually, funny enough, they live around here somewhere.”  And just as those words came out of her mouth, Tessa’s ex and his Stepford-wife styled girlfriend came around the corner.  And of course we were trapped and had to do the whole fake ‘you-look-so-good-and-next-time-we-should-plan-dinner” talk.

The worst part was, Tessa’s boyfriend hardly talked at all.  Tessa spent most of her time conversing with the Stepford wife, who was making small talk because she was clearly uncomfortable.  Will the ex encounter always be awkward?  Can we ever talk with our ex without feeling some sort of tension.  I mean, if you loved someone once and break-up where does that love actually go?  Does it disappear or will a hint of it always be there?  And, maybe that is why there is always a little bit of tension when there is an ex encounter.

2 thoughts on “The Ex Encounter

  1. My ex finally acknowledged my existence (on FB) for the first time in 3 years. And our breakup was amicable. So, while I am thankful my constant moving and chronic singleness mean I get to avoid ex interaction, I am kind of sad I don’t get to have positive relationships with any of them.

    • I know what you mean. Sometimes all you want to do is go back to a decent relationship with them, but it is never that easy. Why is it that there is no turning back when it comes to love?

Leave a Reply

