The Honeymoon Is Over!

I was franticly running through the streets, literally pushing people out of my way, as my boyfriend called for the second time.  “Where are you? We have been waiting for half an hour!”  I told him I was doing my best, but it was Nuit Blanche so moving through the drunk masses at a good pace was almost impossible.  It also didn’t help that I was already running late.  Does he really expect that I magically look great at the drop of a pin?  Well, maybe I should have been a little less fabulous and wore shoes that were a little more practical!

I had finally met up with my boy and our friends.  I gave everyone the kiss-the-cheek hello and was introduced to my friend’s new love interest.  The two were awfully cute.  And when I say ‘awfully’ cute, I mean they were clearly in that honeymoon stage where they were very affectionate in public.  It was adorable for the first few hours, but then it was like they were just bragging.  I quickly caught up to my boyfriend and grabbed his hand for a little PDA of our own.

The newly-in-love couple would hold hands, they would kiss, they would even share the food they ordered with each other.  Do you remember those days when you and your partner would share each other’s food?  Now you are lucky if they even offer you a small bite without expecting sex in return!

The love-bugs finally set me over the edge when they started rubbing noses at the table.  I leaned over the table and said, “Enjoy the honeymoon stage now.  Soon he will be farting in front of you and the romance is over!”  Just as those words uttered out of my mouth, I watched my boyfriend wipe his dirty hands on his pants like a five-year-old.

Was our honeymoon over? Yes! Was I secretly hating the newly-in-love couple? No, I thought they were the cutest thing I have seen in a long time.  And it was a dear friend of mine, so I was very happy that they found someone that they were so in-love with.  Am I sad that my honeymoon stage is over? Definitely not!!

Just because you are no longer in the honeymoon stage doesn’t mean you love each other any less.  In fact it marks the movement into a new and stronger kind of love.  You ultimately feel comfortable with your partner in every way and that creates a kind of love that you know will stand the test of time.  The kind of love that will not be broken by the little things your boyfriend does.  And when he farts in front of you, you smile and are happy you were able to find the love of your life.

Leave a Reply

